13 comments on “SharePoint 2013 Alert Error: You do not have an email address
  1. 280dude says:

    Thanks for the article. I experienced this same error message and by following your steps found that my email wasn’t populated. I was able to continue with your article and get everything synced up. I’m still experiencing the same error message which is confusing me but at least I have email attached to profiles now.

  2. Travis says:

    I’ve followed these exact instructions (actually did ages ago, but re-visiting now) but still have no email in my Sharepoint profiles… Any ideas on what I should try next?

    • whorn76 says:

      Sorry I haven’t been paying attention to the comments on this post. Were you able to get this resolved? The email address is populated fine inside of Active Directory? I assume by this point you’ve done a full sync again rather than just an incremental?

  3. Travis says:

    I was able to fix it – I just have to leave our farm acct in the local admin group longer & deal w/the security warnings. We’re working on excluding the UPS service from backup, but our backups were causing UPS to be re-provisioned very frequently, & since the farm acct wasn’t in local admin, the re-provision failed.

  4. Manoj says:

    that helped!

  5. Gustavo says:

    Hello… I’m stucked in the step on editing de “User Property”. I can’t edit the “Work email” property. I can’t clic in any place in order to get displayed the drop down box to select “Edit”.

    I’m logged as Administrator. Am I missing something here? Thanks!

  6. Gustavo says:

    Never mind. I found my issue. I was logging to Sharepoint Central Administration directly in the server hosting Sharepoint. I tried from another computer and worked well, now I can edit the properties. I think it was something like a security issue of the server or Internet Explorer preventing to edit the properties.

  7. Jerry Smithson says:

    isn’t sharepoint a nightmare to work with then? LOL Hate working with this product

  8. Kannan says:

    Thanks for the article, it is working perfectly.

  9. Chris says:

    Worked a treat for me. Thanks.

  10. Olivier says:

    We just migrated a SP2010 to SP2016 (using SP2013 as a stepping stone). We have multiple version of AD we sync from and were facing this issue in our SP2016, importing from the original AD. Following your article, I was able to fix our issue in no time.
    This is to say that even though this article dates back 7 years ago, it is still a great help!
    Thanks!

Leave a comment